Mama Africa: The Diary of an African Woman is the second studio album by Nigerian singer Yemi Alade. Released by Effyzzie Music Group on March 25, 2016. The album is the follow-up to her debut album, King of Queens (2014). It features guest appearances from P-Square, Sarkodie, Sauti Sol, Flavour N'abania, Rotimi Keys, DJ Arafat and Selebobo, with production from GospelOnDeBeatz, DJ Coublon, Selebobo, Philkeyz, BeatsByEmzo, Masterkraft, Rotimi Keys and Mr. Chidoo. The album's release was preceded by the singles "Na Gode", "Do As I Do", and "Ferrari". The deluxe edition of the album was released on April 6, 2016, and features guest vocals from South African musicians Bucie and AKA.

Rate This


Based on

7 Critics

Based on

0  User

Write a review

You need to be logged in to write a review and rate this subject... to continue

All Reviews

Critic Reviews (7)

Weighted Avg. Adjusted by the addition of a statistical value.
Critic Score Distribution
Highest score:
Lowest score:
Average score:
  1. Positive: 1 Out of 7
  1. Mixed: 4 Out of 7
  1. Negative: 2 Out of 7
Critical Consensus: Average. Mixed reactions.


03 Jan 2017
The reason for her naming her album “Mama Africa“, isn’t far fetched, it’s simply due to her continuous travels all over African countries and maybe her absorbing some sounds from these locations (I stand to be corrected) having said that, we ...

03 Jan 2017
In my #2015InReview I wrote that: “Yemi Alade continued where she left off in 2014, staking her claim on the King of Queens title. After successes of Johnny and her début album, Yemi Alade went on tour, increasing her fanbase from Congo to Ghana t ...

03 Jan 2017
A year and a few months after the release of her debut album, King of Queens, Yemi Alade is back again with her sophomore, Mama Africa: The Diary of an African Woman. Big name, if you ask me, for a 15 track album, but all the same, full marks for pro ...

Music in Africa

03 Jan 2017
If there is an award for the most undeserved title of the year, then Yemi Alade has already won. I’ll suggest she wins it every day till her next album. That title, Mama Africa, is the name of her sophomore album, an album that has the lady feature ...

03 Jan 2017
In 2014, ‘Johnny’ put a struggling Yemi Alade in the center of the mainstream big picture, and she took her chance like a woman who came prepared. A swift rebranding, release of more songs, promotion and effective execution gave birth to her debu ...


03 Jan 2017
As album titles go, Yemi Alade’s sophomore effort is as bland and unimaginative as they come. Why, when it comes to fabulous females,- living or dead- laying claim to mothering an entire continent of nations, hasn’t it all been done before? And d ...

User Reviews (0)

This item has not received any user reviews yet. Be the first to review it. Find out how.

Play Length:



Selebobo, GospelOnDeBeatz, Masterkraft, BeatsByEmzo, Philkeyz, DJ Coublon, Rotimi Keys, Mr. Chidoo, Koribo Harrison (exec.) Taiye Aliyu (exec.)


Digital Download, Standard CD


1. Na Gode (featuring Selebobo)
2. Tumbum
3. Tonight (featuring P-Square)
4. Kom Kom (featuring Flavour N'abania)
5. Baby's Back
6. Marry Me
7. Africa (featuring Sauti Sol)
8. Ferrari
9. Do As I Do (featuring DJ Arafat)
10. Kelele (featuring Rotimikeys)
11. Ego (featuring Sarkodie)
12. Mama
13. Dorcas
14. Nakupenda
15. Koffi Anan (freestyle)
Deluxe Addition
16. Mama Africa
17. Mama Africa Remix (featuring AKA)
18. Waka Waka (featuring Bucie)
19. Sugar n Spice
20. All Day
21. Na Gode (Swahili Version)

  Oops! There are no photos available currently. Please check back later.