Armed only with an acoustic guitar and sincere Xhosa lyrics, Afro-folk singer/songwriter Zahara has been an unprecedented South African success story. Not only did her enchanting debut Loliwe go double platinum within three weeks, but it also propelled Zahara towards an international career and multiple South African Music Awards. Produced by Mojalefa "Mjakes" Thebe—who has created magic for the likes of Mzekezeke, Ntando and Brown Dash. Mgodi is the Zahara’s fourth studio album, and showcases a formidable troubadour in her prime. The album features only three artists; American smooth jazz saxophonist – Kirk Whalum, Sivuyile and Mutukana Sisters.

Rate This


Based on

1  Critic

Based on

0  User

Write a review

You need to be logged in to write a review and rate this subject... to continue

All Reviews

Critic Reviews (1)

Weighted Avg. Adjusted by the addition of a statistical value.
Critic Score Distribution
Highest score:
Lowest score:
Average score:
  1. Positive: 1 Out of 1
  1. Mixed: 0 Out of 1
  1. Negative: 0 Out of 1
Critical Consensus: Undecided (waiting for 2 more votes)

City Press

22 Oct 2017
"The sounds of Mgodi show that she’s diverse, but remains true to her original country-girl sound." ...

User Reviews (0)

This item has not received any user reviews yet. Be the first to review it. Find out how.

Play Length:



Mojalefa "Mjakes" Thebe


Digital Download, Standard CD


1. Umsebenzi Wam
2. Ndiveze
3. Mgodi
4. Umfazi (feat. Kirk Whalum)
5. Ina Mvula (feat. Kirk Whalum)
6. Thembalam
7. Tribute (feat. Sivuyile)
8. Yhini
9. Ndivulele
10. Win or Lose
11. Love Is in the Air
12. God in the Valley (feat. Mkutukana Sisters)

  Oops! There are no photos available currently. Please check back later.